Regional Climate change adaptation planning

>  Home

In a Victorian first, the Catchment Management Authorities (CMAs), funded through the Australian Government, developed regional climate change adaptation planning.

The aim of this website is to provide a common platform to access climate change adaptation planning for natural resource management across Victoria.

In collaboration with community and a range of stakeholders, the Catchment Management Authorities across Victoria developed Climate Change Adaptation Plans.

These plans were developed using the latest climate change projections by the CSIRO and in conjunction with key research organisations across Australia. 

The project:

  • developed spatial tools to assess climate change vulnerability across the state;
  • pioneered adaptation pathways planning in the state;
  • undertook extensive engagement with the community and key stakeholders on climate change adaptation;
  • produced the most comprehensive natural resource management climate change adaptation planning to date in Victoria; 
  • and provided guidance on  priority areas for carbon sequestration and planting.

The Regional CMA Information page will direct you to CMA specific climate change adaptation information. Full plans for each CMA can be accessed via the links below:

Corangamite CMA

East Gippsland CMA

Glenelg Hopkins CMA

Goulburn Broken CMA

Mallee CMA

North Central CMA

North East CMA

West Gippsland CMA

Wimmera CMA

Port Phillip & Westernport CMA

The Victorian Catchment Management Authorities collaborated on the development of this portal through the Victorian CMA Climate Change Forum, which is still in operation.

Through this forum, the Victorian Catchment Management Authorities have developed a list of high priority adaptation options for natural resource management in Victoria , The ten Victoria Catchment Management Authorities (CMA) who  jointly invested in this website are:

Corangamite CMA, East Gippsland CMA, Glenelg Hopkins CMA, Goulburn Broken CMA, Mallee CMA, North Central CMA, North East CMA, Melbourne Water, West Gippsland CMA and Wimmera CMA.